The Community Foundation of Southeast Kansas announced the 2019-20 school year recipients of the Bill House Hereford Foundation Scholarship.

House was a Chautauqua and Cowley County resident who loved ranching and agriculture. Part of his legacy is to encourage and support young people in the pursuit of a career in agriculture.

The following students received scholarships toward their post-high school education:

• Kayla Signer, Sedan High School — Oklahoma Panhandle State University;

• Joshua Butler, Arkansas City High School — Cowley College;

• Jon Wells, Sedan High School — Kansas State University;

• Braden Snyder, Cedar Vale High School — Cowley College;

• Ian Messenger, Arkansas City High School — North Central Kansas Technical School;

• Thomas Parsons, Dexter High School — Kansas State University;

• Brainne Nelsen, Fredonia High School — Oklahoma State University;

• Tatum Norwood, Arkansas City High School — Oklahoma State University.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.