The HL Snyder Medical Foundation announced the awarding of the 2019-20 scholarships and grants to local Winfield students pursuing careers in healthcare.

The HLSMF trustees formally welcomed the 2019-20 class of scholarship and grant recipients during a presentation at the Harbor at Winfield High School. On hand to congratulate the recipients were HLSMF trustees, family and friends. After an opening address by Scholarship Committee Chair Hannelore Snyder Brown, scholarship recipients were presented with certificates designating his or her scholarship amount.

“The HLSMF scholarship program was founded in 2003 and awarded three recipients a total of $5,000,” Snyder Brown said. “Over the last 16 years, the program has grown exponentially, not only with the number of recipients but also the amount in which we are able to support and invest in our Winfield students. This year 48 scholarships were awarded. These students continue to set the bar high, exceed, by a wide margin, all expectations, shoulder responsibility and accept leadership within their chosen healthcare fields. As representatives of Winfield, their families and HLSMF, they are in every sense of the word, exceptional.”

Recipients were individually congratulated by Trustees and Scholarship Committee members, David Andreas, Scott Brown, Katie Eastman, Alan Hermann, Sharon Taylor and Hannelore Snyder Brown, as well as USD 465 Superintendent Dr Nathan Reed and Exploring Heath Careers teacher Robert Fields.

A total of $100,662.15 in scholarships was awarded.

• Emily Adelman, Doctorate of Nurse Anesthesia Practice graduate student, received a $5,000 scholarship.

• Abby Bertholf, a senior at Southwestern College, received a $4,000 scholarship.

• Sam Bertholf, a second-year dental student at University of Missouri-Kansas City, received a $5,000 scholarship.

• Derek Bryant, a sophomore at University of Oklahoma, received a $2,000 scholarship.

• Zachary Butler, a freshman at Emporia State University, received a $1,000 scholarship.

• Aubrey Cartlidge, a freshman at Cowley College, received a $500 scholarship.

• Shea Carver, a first-year medical student at the Kansas University Medical Center, received a $5,000 scholarship.

• Brianna Dutton, a freshman at Cowley College, received a $500 scholarship

• Trenton Ebersole, a third-year dental student at Creighton University, received a $4,000 scholarship.

• Tori Fell, a nursing student at St Luke’s School of Nursing, received a $4,000 scholarship.

• Jesse Hollingsworth, a first-year medical student at Kansas University Medical Center, received a $4,000 Craig Turner Memorial Scholarship.

• Allison Hovey, a first-year nursing student at the University of Oklahoma, received a $2,000 scholarship.

• Isabella Hunt, a sophomore at Southwestern College, is the first recipient of the Carolyn Langenwalter STEM Education Scholarship and received $5,000.

• Brianna Hutto, a junior at the University of Kansas, received a $3,000 scholarship.

• Randi Hutto, a sophomore at the University of Kansas, received a $2,000 scholarship.

• Alyssa Jones, a senior nursing student at Newman University, received a $2,500 scholarship.

• Matt Kaiser, in his final year receiving a Physical Therapy Assistant degree at Kansas City Kansas Community College, received a $5,000 scholarship.

• Lauren Turner Kennedy, a second-year medical student at the Kansas University Medical Center, received a $7,000 scholarship.

• Nicholas Lockyear, a fourth-year pharmacy student at Southwest Oklahoma State University, received a $5,000 scholarship.

• Brittney McNown, a senior at Wichita State University in Dental Hygiene, received a $4,000 and is the 2019-20 HL Snyder Scholar.

• Mallory Meier, a senior at Bethel College, received a $4,000 scholarship.

• Daelor Osen, a third-year medical student at Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences, received a $6,000 scholarship.

• Sadie Ravell, a sophomore pre-med student at Rockhurst University, received a $2,000 scholarship.

• Cameron Roark, a freshman at Southwestern College, received a $500 scholarship.

• Emily Sarnacki, a first-year medical student at University of Kansas Medical Center, received a $4,000 scholarship.

• Israel Walker, a junior at Wichita State University, received a $3,000 scholarship.

In a collaborative effort between USD 465, Winfield High School, Arkansas City High School, Cowley College and HLSMF, a grant program was established to encourage and foster high school students interested in medical careers. The Marvin Estes and Dolly Bonfy Healthcare Scholarship was awarded to students who will receive their Certified Nurses Aide, Certified Medical Aide and/or EMS certification through Cowley County Community College.

Students were required to satisfactorily complete their Healthcare Exploration classes, have an above average GPA, two letters of reference, along with application for review by the HLSMF Scholarship Committee. This year’s awardees are: Eliana Barron, Jasmine Bruner, Haley Gedrose, Isabel Jellings, RayAnn Miller, Anna Phiouphongphan, Hunter Schmeidler and Aliya Shumate.

Summer 2019 certification scholarship recipients: Madeline Cantu (CNA/HHA), Abigale Hunt (CNA), Madalyne Kenemore (EMT), Piper Lazelle (CNA), Hunter Schmeidler (EMT), Sophia Sisk (CNA) and Rubye Zuniga (CNA).

Certifications Scholarship recipients: Carson Litrell (EMT/Paramedic) received a $1,000 scholarship; and Anastasia Trobaugh (Radiology Tech) received a $1,000 scholarship.

The Scholarship Committee works in conjunction with Winfield High School teachers, Rob Fields and WHS administrators to award $500 scholarships to five 2019-20 WHS graduates who intend to study in healthcare related fields. This year’s recipients are: Aubrey Cartlidge, Brianna Dutton, Sebastien Morrissey, Cameron Roark and Grace Tipps.

Founded in 1943 by the Snyder family, HLSMF has had a longstanding commitment to medical research and to the community of Winfield that has been so generous in its support throughout the years. 

As a way to give back to the community and to support the next generation of entrants into medical and scientific fields, HLSMF established the scholarship and grant program in 2002.

Two of the primary goals of the program are to help deserving Winfield students pursue careers in these professions and to minimize the financial burden they incur during these academic endeavors.

The scholarship committee of HLSMF encourages all interested applicants to contact the organization. Call (620) 221-4080; email; or visit the offices at 1407 Wheat Road for additional information.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.