71 Kansas Counties with FEMA Disaster Declarations

TOPEKA — U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Rural Development State Director for Kansas, Lynne Hinrichsen, highlighted that USDA is providing $150 million in grants through the agency’s Community Facilities Program. The grants will help rural communities across the country continue their recovery from the devastating effects of natural disasters, which includes hurricanes, tornadoes, flooding, straight-line winds, wildfires, landslides and mudslides. 

“Throughout Kansas, numerous communities were devastated by natural disasters this year,” Hinrichsen said. “USDA’s Community Facilities program can help rural communities in their recovery efforts by ensuring they have public services and facilities available to support their residents.” 

Hinrichsen’s announcement is in coordination with USDA Rural Development’s Rural Housing Service Administrator Bruce Lammer’s recent statement that $150 million is included in the Additional Supplemental Appropriations for Disaster Relief Act that President Trump signed into law on June 6, 2019. The grants may be used for relief in areas affected by Hurricanes Michael and Florence; wildfires in 2018; and other natural disasters where the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has provided a notice declaring a Major Disaster Declaration and assigned a FEMA disaster recovery (DR) number. Check the FEMA website for regular updates and names of additional communities that may be added.

Currently, Kansas has 71 counties included in FEMA Major Disaster Declarations:

Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Brown, Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Edwards, Elk, Ellsworth, Ford, Franklin, Geary, Gray, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Jefferson, Kingman, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Linn, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Meade, Miami, Montgomery, Morris, Nemaha, Neosho, Ness, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Rush, Russell, Saline, Smith, Stafford, Sumner, Wabaunsee, Wallace, Washington, Wilson, Woodson and Wyandotte.

More than 100 types of projects are eligible for Community Facilities funding. Eligible applicants include municipalities, public bodies, nonprofit organizations and federally recognized Native American tribes. Projects must be in eligible rural areas with a population of 20,000 or less.

Grant applications will be accepted at USDA Rural Development offices on a continual basis until funds are exhausted. Grant assistance will be provided on a graduated scale; smaller communities with the lowest median household income are eligible for a higher proportion of grant funds. For application details, see page 47477 of the Sept. 10 Federal Register or contact a USDA Rural Development Community Programs Specialist in Kansas:

• David Barber, Hays Office, (785) 624-3243, david.barber@usda.gov

• Michael Billings, Iola Office, (620) 380-3109, michael.billings@usda.gov

• Chelsea Morris, Newton Office, (316) 282-3474, chelsea.morris@usda.gov

• Austin Masters, Topeka Office, (785) 271-2731, austin.masters@usda.gov

• Sarah Hines, Topeka Office, (785) 271-2760, sarah.hines2@usda.gov

In April 2017, President Donald J. Trump established the Interagency Task Force on Agriculture and Rural Prosperity to identify legislative, regulatory and policy changes that could promote agriculture and prosperity in rural communities. In January 2018, Secretary Perdue presented the Task Force’s findings to President Trump. These findings included 31 recommendations to align the federal government with state, local and tribal governments to take advantage of opportunities that exist in rural America. Increasing investments in rural infrastructure is a cornerstone recommendation of the task force.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.