Merz, Stewart earn honorable mention

Arkansas City High School senior Jamauri Jordan earned a nod on the second team in voting by AV-CTL D-II boys basketball coaches. Jordan led the Bulldogs in many statistical categories.

Arkansas City High School senior Jamauri Jordan was selected to the second team in balloting by Ark Valley-Chisholm Chism League Division II coaches.

Juniors Brock Merz and Doug Stewart earned honorable mention.

Jordan led the Bulldogs with 12 points and 6.3 rebounds per game, and also recorded 1.2 assists and 1 steal per contest. He shot 60 percent (87 of 145) from the floor and 66 percent (63 of 96) from the foul line. He also led the team by taking 24 offensive charging fouls.

Stewart was second on the team with 8.6 points and 5.7 rebounds per game. He led the Bulldogs with 3.8 assists and 1.6 steals per game. Stewart shot 32 percent from the floor (62 of 192), including 24 percent (19 of 79) from 3-point range, leading the team in that category. He was a 68-percent free-throw shooter (28 of 41).

Merz averaged 7.6 points, 1.1 assists and 1 steal per game, and shot 46 percent (61 of 132) from the floor, including 25 percent (8 of 320 from beyond the arc. Merz connected on 58 percent (21 of 36) from the line.

The Bulldogs finished fourth in the league with a 5-7 record, 10-11 overall. Ark City lost to Hays in the semifinals of the Class 5A Sub-State Tournament.

The Andover Trojans, who compiled a perfect 12-0 league record, saw four players earn all-league honors.

 Martin Shetlar, who guided the Trojans to a 23-0 record and the No. 1 seed and the semifinals of the KSHSAA Class 5A State Tournament before play was canceled, earned Coach of the Year honors.

Goddard-Eisenhower senior Jordan Vincent was voted league Most Valuable player.

The Bulldogs and last-place Goddard (0-12) were the only teams without a first-team player.

Joining Vincent on the first team was the Andover duo of senior Harper Jonas and junior Jack Johnson; Andover Central senior Xavier Bell; Maize South senior Trey Reid; and Valley Center junior Eli Issacs.


AV-CTL Division II

All-League Boys Basketball


Most Valuable Player — Jordan Vincent, Goddard-Eisenhower.

Coach of the Year — Martin Shetlar, Andover.


Jack JohnsonJr.Andover

Harper JonasSr.Andover

Xavier BellSr.Andover Central

Jordan VincentSr.Eisenhower

Trey ReidSr.Maize South

Eli IsaacsJr.Valley Center



Isaiah MaikoriJr.Andover

Jerome WashingtonSr.Andover Central

Jamauri JordanSr.Arkansas City

Nick HoganJr.Eisenhower

Ethan StewartSr.Eisenhower

Jacob ByrneSr.Valley Center



Kaleb Gaddis (Jr.), Andover; Kaden Wilson (Sr.), Andover Central; Brock Merz (Jr.), Arkansas City; Doug Stewart (Jr.), Arkansas City; Cody Houser (Jr.), Goddard-Eisenhower; Cameron Moses (Jr.), Goddard; Ben Crowell (Jr.), Maize South; Parker Scott (Jr.), Maize South; Braydon Gray (Sr.), Valley Center; Gabe Phillips (Jr.), Valley Center.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.