Bulldogs get second Pitcher of the Year honor in succession

Recent Arkansas City High School grad Garrett VanDeventer was named Pitcher of the Year in balloting by AV-CTL D-II baseball coaches, giving the Bulldogs back-to-back Pitchers of the Year in the league. Like last year’s top pitcher, Hunter O’Toole, VanDeventer has signed a National Letter of Intent to pitch for Cowley College.

Arkansas City High School grad Garrett VanDeventer was named Pitcher of the Year in balloting by Ark Valley-Chisholm Trail League Division II baseball coaches.

VanDeventer could have had an argument to win the award last season after compiling an 8-0 record and 1.17 ERA while taking part in two no-hitters en route to the Class 4A State title.

It is, however, the second consecutive Pitcher of the Year award for the Bulldogs. Hunter O’Toole captured the award in his senior year last season, and most recently pitched for Cowley College in the Juco World Series.

VanDeventer wasn’t quite as dominant this season, though he didn’t have the run support he had in last year’s run to the State title. He compiled a 4-3 record this season with a 1.54 ERA.

VanDeventer tossed a team-high 50 innings, giving up 39 hits and nine earned runs, with 61 strikeouts and just 10 walks. He started a team-high eight games and completed one. He was also part of a one-hit shutout in a victory against arch rival Winfield.

VanDeventer pitched a gem in the quarterfinals of the Class 5A State tourney, but lost 1-0 in a pitchers’ duel with Topeka-Seaman’s Hunter Hesseltine. Seaman went on to upset top-seeded Bishop Carroll for the 5A State title.

Sophomore second baseman-pitcher Owen Bucher, who combined with VanDeventer on that one-hit shutout against Winfield, also was named to the first team.

Bucher led the Bulldogs with a .400 average (26 for 65) and 15 RBI. He was second on the squad with 20 runs and seven doubles, while his hit total tied for the team lead. Bucher also was successful on seven of 9 stolen-base attempts.

Sophomore Haden O’Toole was named to the all-league second team at two positions.

O’Toole compiled a 3-2 record with two saves on the mound with a 2.15 ERA and made a team-high 11 appearances on the bump. He gave up nine earned runs and 26 hits in 29 1/3 innings, with 31 strikeouts and just nine walks.

The third baseman also batted .364 (24 for 66) with 17 runs and 11 RBI.

Senior catcher Brice Nittler also was named to the second team.

Nittler hit .242 (15 for 62) with a team-high two home runs. He drew a team-leading 14 walks, scored 10 runs and drove in 15, and just as important, threw out 8 of 20 would-be base stealers.

In tough competition at shortstop, recent grad Halen David earned honorable mention despite a .382 average and team-highs in at-bats (84), runs (21), hits (26) and doubles (8).

Recent grad Austin Hensley received honorable mention as a pitcher. Hensley was 2-1 with one save and a 1.66 ERA in eight appearances, five starts. He allowed 19 hits and 14 walks in 25 1/3 innings while striking out 11.

Player of the Year honors were shared between Maize South senior shortstop Alex Epp and Goddard junior first baseman Koby Burdertt.

Darrin Fisher, who led Goddard to the AV-CTL D-II title, was named Coach of the Year.

AV-CTL Division II

All-League Baseball

Co-Players of the Year — Alex Epp, Maize South;

                            Koby Burden, Goddard.

Pitcher of the Year — Garrett VanDeventer, Arkansas City.

Coach of the Year — Darrin Fisher, Goddard.

(* - unanimous)


P — Garrett VanDeventerSr.Arkansas City

P — Payton GrahamFr.Valley Center

P — Isaiah CohensSr.Goddard

P — Hayden BontragerSr.Maize South

C — Alec RobinsonSr.Goddard

1B — Koby Burdett*Jr.Goddard

2B — Owen BucherSo.Arkansas City

3B — Wade ReynoldsSr.Eisenhower

SS — Alex Epp*Sr.Maize South

OF — Collin Mackey*Jr.Eisenhower

OF — Aaron DiehlSr.Valley Center

OF — Jackson JobeJr.Eisenhower

OF — Kyler SemradSo.Goddard

OF — Kaden HoeferJr.Goddard

DH — Blake MitchellJr.Goddard

Util — Jackson NicklausSo.Andover



P — Collin MackeyJr.Eisenhower

P — Danny HelmerSr.Andover

P — Haden O’TooleSo.Arkansas City

P — Trey DeGarmoJr.Andover Central

C — Brice NittlerSr.Arkansas City

1B — Jackson HurtJr.Andover

2B — Preston DrakeSr.Andover

3B — Haden O’TooleSo.Arkansas City

SS — Parker WenzelJr.Eisenhower

OF — Jesse JohnsonSo.Valley Center

OF — Eli FahnestockSo.Andover

OF — Gavin AdamsJr.Valley Center

DH — Ian StephensJr.Eisenhower

Util — Hayden BontragerSr.Maize South

Util — Preston DrakeSr.Andover



P — Alex Epp (Sr.), Maize South; Bradeyn McPheeters (Sr.), Maize South; Andrew Wisner (Sr.), Goddard-Eisenhower; Mattingly Milledge (Jr.), Goddard-Eisenhower; Cole Gordon (Jr.), Goddard; Easton Elliott (So.), Andover Central; Austin Hensley (Sr.), Arkansas City; Kade Schulz (Jr.), Goddard; Spencer Maley (Jr.), Goddard-Eisenhower.

C — Tysaac Noland (Jr.), Maize South; Ben Brown (Sr.), Andover.

1B — Cory Gleason (So.), Goddard-Eisenhower; Colin Shields (So.), Maize South.

2B — Mason Turney (So.), Goddard-Eisenhower; Jaden Wiley (So.), Goddard; Jake Taylor (Jr.), Andover Central.

3B — Trey DeGarmo (Jr.), Andover Central.

SS — Halen David (Sr.), Arkansas City.

DH — Ashton Ngo (So.), Andover.

Util — Kade Schulz (Jr.), Goddard.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.