COLBY — In only its third year of existence, the No. 17-ranked Cowley College wrestling team captured the Jayhawk Conference title Sunday and Monday by going 4-0 at the Jayhawk Duals.

After defeating 26th-ranked Colby (35-16) and No. 23-ranked Northwest Kansas Tech (31-17) on Sunday, the Tigers defeated No. 20-ranked Barton 44-10 and Cloud County 35-9 to finish the season with a 7-0 dual conference record of 7-0.

Cowley finished ahead of the No. 22-ranked Pratt Beavers (6-1), whose lone conference loss against the Tigers.

Former Arkansas City High School standout Jake Beeson of Pratt finished with a 7-0 record in league competition en route to the league title at 149. He improved to 28-2 this season.

“I am very proud of the team,” Cowley coach Beau Vest said. “They have grown a lot. It’s very easy to talk about potential, but these guys did it against several very solid teams.”

The Tigers compete at 9 a.m. Saturday in the NJCAA National Qualifier in Miami, Okla.

“We look forward to getting a little bit healthier and pushing into the tournament,” Vest said.

Cowley 35, Colby 16

125 — Corwin Strachan (CC) won forfeit. 133 — Austin Kincaid (CC) pin Rhett Miner (Colby). 141 — Rush Fannon (Colby) pin Isaiah Banks (CC). 149 — Kaena DeSantos (Colby) dec. Gabe Capp (CC), 10-2. 157 — Liam Corbett (CC) pin Dino Baldes (Colby). 165 — Garrett Lange (CC) tech. fall Taylor Clay (Colby). 174 — Jesse Nunez (CC) major dec. Austin Hacker (Colby), 13-1. 184 — Ottis Peeler (CC) tech. fall Aiden Smith (Colby). 197 — Sean Jackson (Colby) pin Zach Choate (CC). Hwt — Tyler Shannon (CC) dec. Jesse Quilimaco (Colby), 3-2.


Cowley 31, Northwest Kansas 17

125 — Taywone McNack (CC) pin Talyn Perez (NWK). 133 — TaJuan Daniels (NWK) tech. fall Austin Kincaid (CC). 141 — Reuben Arrendondo (CC) won forfeit. 149 — Gabe Capp (CC) won forfeit. 157 — Liam Corbett (CC) dec. James Foy (NWK), 10-5. 165 — Chinges Tsermaa (NWK) dec. Montez Robinson (CC), 8-4. 174 — Jacobi Deal (NWK) dec. Jesse Nunez (CC), 3-2. 184 — Ottis Peeler (CC) major dec. Jacari Deal (NWK) 16-8. 197 — Tyler Bingham (CC) pin Kade Holman (NWK). Hwt — Umari Dixon-Gordon pin Tyler Shannon (CC). 


Cowley 35, Cloud County 9

125 — Blayne Harris (Cloud) dec. Corwin Strachan (CC), 4-0. 133 — Blake Leisler (Cloud) dec. Austin Kincaid (CC), 7-6. 141 — Isaiah Banks (CC) major dec. Aiden Connors (Cloud) 12-4. 149 — Nate Normandin (Cloud) dec. Gabe Capp (CC), 4-3. 157 — Liam Corbett (CC) won forfeit. 165 — Garrett Lange (CC) pin Korbrn Mann (Cloud). 174 — Jesse Nunez (CC) won forfeit. 184 — Tyler Bingham (CC) won forfeit. 197 — Ottis Peeler (CC) tech. fall Kevin Murry (Cloud). Hwt — Tyler Shannon (CC) dec. Elwin Trejo (Cloud), 3-2.


Cowley 44, Barton 10

125 — Corwin Strachan (CC) pin Zach Gomez (BC). 133 — Austin Kincaid (CC) won forfeit. 141 — Isaiah Banks (CC) dec. Drew Burgoon (BC), 13-10. 149 — Kolby Droegemier (BC) major dec. Gabe Capp (CC). 157 — Liam Corbett (CC) pin Gable Howerton (BC). 165 — Garrett Lange (CC) won forfeit. 174 — Jesse Nunez (CC) lost injury default. 184 — Ottis Peeler (CC) tech. fall Joey Ewalt (BC). 

197 — Tyler Bingham (CC) won forfeit. Hwt — Tyler Shannon (CC) won forfeit.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.