The Cowley men’s and women’s soccer teams dominated the Jayhawk East all-conference selections.

The men’s team was honored with the Coach, Player and Defensive Player of the Year, while the Lady Tigers had the Coach of the Year, Offensive Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year.

Ruy Vaz was named the men’s Jayhawk East Coach of the Year for a second straight season.

Sophomore Elluan Martins Gomes (16 goals) was named the Jayhawk East Player of the Year and sophomore Joao Victor Camargos was the Defensive Player of the Year. Both were also named to the all-conference first team, along with freshman Lucas Mauro (11 goals, four assists), sophomore Hikaru Tanaka (three goals, five assists) and sophomore goalkeeper Ramiro Diez (0.99 goals-against average).

Freshman Antonio Marra (three goals) and sophomore Saulo Dantas were named to the second team.

The Tigers (15-2-2) captured their second straight Jayhawk East title and their first-ever region title, and won the first national tournament game in program history.

“We are blessed with a great group,” Vaz said. “Both teams dominated the East side and it is natural that a few individuals will be selected because of their hard work and determination to be the best version of themselves. I am very proud of these players and these awards just show that both programs are headed in the right direction.”

The Lady Tigers won a school-record 14 games and their first-ever Jayhawk East title.

Roberto Dos Santos captured his first-ever Jayhawk East Coach of the Year Award.

“I am thankful for the ladies that came to Cowley and believed in the greatness of Cowley athletics — they made me look good,” Dos Santos said.

“I am honored for the recognition by the other coaches. Nonetheless, I share this recognition with (Cowley assistant) Coach Tanner Brock’s hard work and trust.”

Freshman Natalia Lima (18 goals, six assists) was named the Jayhawk East Offensive Player of the Year and fellow freshman Harlie Findley (five assists) was the Defensive Player of the Year.

Lima and Findley were joined on the first team by freshmen Manuela Oliveira (nine goals, nine assists), Carla Ruiz (three goals, three assists) and goalkeeper Lotta Dufva (0.93 goals-against average). Sophomore Letycia Bonifacio (one goal, one assists) rounded out the six players on the first team.

Freshman Michaela Seahorn (four goals), a Winfield High School standout, was named to the second team all-conference and sophomore defender Kamila Mroziewicz received honorable mention.

“It was an amazing and historical year for Cowley women’s soccer,” Dos Santos said. “The members of the squad left a legacy to be followed by the next generation. It’s so gratifying to see eight members of the team being recognized by other coaches, in a very competitive conference. It was a team effort, I am honored and proud of these ladies. They earned every piece of this wonderful campaign.”


Jayhawk East Men’s Soccer

All-Conference Team


Player of the Year — Elluan Martins Gomes, Cowley.

Co-Defensive Players of the Year — Joao Victor Camargos, Cowley;

Chavoy Malcolm, Johnson County.

Co-Coach of the Year — Fatai Ayoade, Johnson County; Ruy Vaz, Cowley.




Elluan Martins GomesSo.Cowley

Jordan MaseFr.Allen

Marcos ViniciusSo.Johnson County

Alfie BelcherSo.Neosho County


Lucas MauroFr.Cowley

Hikaru TanakaSo.Cowley

Brad TulleySo.Johnson County

Alejandro MailetSo.Kansas City


Joao Victor CamargosSo.Cowley

Chavoy MalcolmFr.Johnson County

Luke AndrewsSo.Johnson County

Stylianos PapadimitriouSo.Kansas City

Matheus PaesFr.Neosho County


Ramiro DiezSo.Cowley




Samba GnokaneFr.Kansas City

Kristian Colaci HorbunovSo.Neosho County

Ramon BravoFr.Johnson County


Antonio MarraFr.Cowley

Elie LubinoSo.Neosho County

Renan SantosSo.Neosho County


Saulo DantasSo.Cowley

Ignacio SarasolSo.Kansas City

Kyle ReeseFr.Johnson County

Marcos CabralSo.Kansas City


Pedro IvaskoskiSo.Johnson County


Jayhawk East Women’s Soccer

All-Conference Team


Offensive Player of the Year — Natalie Lima, Cowley.

Co-Defensive Player of the Year — Sandra Thiman, Butler; Harlie Findley, Cowley.

Coach of the Year — Roberto dos Santos, Cowley.



Natalia LimaFr.Cowley

Christine KitaruSo.Coffeyville

Louise AtkinsonFr.Coffeyville

Kayla DeaverSo.Kansas City


Manuela OliveiraFr.Cowley

Carla RuizFr.Cowley

Melissa SiegelFr.Kansas City

Ashley TalleySo.Coffeyville


Letycia BonifacioSo.Cowley

Sandra ThimanSo.Butler

Harlie FindleyFr.Cowley


Lotta DufvaFr.Cowley




Corrine HughesFr.Kansas City

Michaela SeahornFr.Cowley

Alyssa StewartFr.Butler

Kayla BrashearSo.Johnson County


Emily BreaultFr.Butler

Cielo RiveraSo.Johnson County

Rachel WoleckiFr.Butler

Rachael ManleyFr.Coffeyville


Kayla FloresSo.Johnson County

Alexa PittmanFr.Johnson County

Brooklyn ArmbrusterSo.Johnson County

Katrina SargentFr.Kansas City

Sydney GuerraSo.Kansas City


Lexi WinkleSo.Butler



Abby Edson (So.), Butler; Paige Ellis (Fr.), Neosho County; Aina Blach Lopez (So.), Johnson County; Kamila Mroziewicz (So.), Cowley; Amanda Wray (So.), Allen.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.