More Spoils for Tigers

Cowley College sophomore Brannon Jordan was named Jayhawk East Most Valuable Player in voting by KJCCC baseball coaches. Jordan heads into the Juco World Series sporting a 9-2 record and 1.43 ERA for the Tigers, and has allowed just 29 hits in 56 2/3 innings, with 76 strikeouts and just 16 walks. Batterymate Cody Milligan, whom Jayhawk East  Coach of the Year Dave Burroughs called, “the best  player on the best team,” was named Jayhawk East Most Valuable Player.

Just days after tearing through the Region VI Tournament in Wichita, the No. 12-ranked Cowley College baseball team saw seven players named all-conference and three more all-region.

The Tigers (45-12) captured their third straight Jayhawk East title and qualified for the Juco World Series for the third time in the past four seasons.

Leading the way for the Tigers was sophomore catcher Cody Milligan, who was named the Jayhawk East Most Valuable Player.

Milligan, who was also an all-conference and all-region first-team selection, is batting .449 with five home runs and 56 runs batted in. Milligan has also been successful on all 27 stolen-base attempts and has an on-base percentage of .567.

“He is the best player on the best team in the region and is very deserving of this award,” Cowley coach Dave Burroughs said. “He is so athletic; he could play anywhere on the field for us.”

Cowley sophomore Brannon Jordan was named the Jayhawk East Pitcher of the Year. Jordan is 9-2 with a 1.43 ERA, and has allowed only 29 hits in 56 2/3 innings, while striking out 76 and walking just 16. He joined Milligan on the all-conference and all-region first team.

“B.J. just kept getting better and better and dominated the last half of the season,” Burroughs said.

Guiding the Tigers to another stellar season, Burroughs was named the Jayhawk East Coach of the Year for the eighth time in the past 13 seasons.

“My award should be shared by our coaches (Darren Burroughs and Brock Buckingham), and our players,” Burroughs said.

Sophomore relief pitcher Jared Wilson was also named to the all-conference first team. Wilson is 2-0 with a 3.71 ERA and has struck out 37 in 26 2/3 innings.

“He has come in and dominated games in the eighth inning for us,” Burroughs said.

Freshman third baseman George Specht (.311 average, 23 RBI) was named to the all-conference first team and all-region second team, while freshman shortstop Logan Steenstra (.300 average, 42 RBI) made the all-conference second team.

“Those two freshmen really had great years and have a good future in our program,” Burroughs said.

Sophomore outfielder Grady Davenport (.411 average, 41 RBI) also was selected to the all-conference second team, while sophomore pitcher Ryan Westerhoff (five saves, 3.03 ERA, 44 strikeouts) received honorable mention.

“For Grady to miss five weeks to injury and still be named second-team all-conference speaks volumes as to what he has done,” Burroughs said. “And Westy is the best closer in the conference.”

Johnson County’s Trey Ziegenbein was named the Jayhawk East Freshman of the Year.

Former Arkansas City High School standout Andrew Brautman received honorable mention.

Brautman, an infielder at Neosho County, batted .342 with a team-high 54 runs for the Panthers.

The Tigers open play at the Juco World Series at 9 a.m. Saturday  against Walters State (Tenn.). The Senators (52-9) were ranked third in the final regular season poll.

KJCCC Division II East

All-Conference Baseball

Most Valuable Player — Cody Milligan, Cowley.

Pitcher of the Year — Brannon Jordan, Cowley.

Freshman of the Year — Trey Ziegenbein, Johnson County.

Coach of the Year — Dave Burroughs, Cowley.


(* - unanimous)

P — Brannon JordanSo.Cowley

P — Trey ZiegenbeinFr.Johnson County

P — Zach EbertSo.Johnson County

RP — Jared WilsonSo.Cowley

C — Cody Milligan*So.Cowley

1B — Malik WilliamsSo.Johnson County

2B — Zac FreemanSo.Coffeyville

3B — Austin BonnelSo.Coffeyville

3B — George SpechtFr.Cowley

SS — Chris EspositoSo.Johnson County

OF — Hampton HallSo.Fort Scott

OF — Nick SchiffnerFr.Highland

OF — Anthony Amicangelo*So.Johnson County

DH — Drew WhiteSo.Labette

Util — Lukas RichFr.Allen



P — Ben BeutelSo.Allen

P — Orlando OrtizSo.Kansas City

P — Osvaldo MendezFr.Kansas City

RP — Paul RectorFr.Johnson County

C — Brady GarrisonSo.Neosho County

1B — Jorge OrtizSo.Coffeyville

2B — Adam ThiesSo.Neosho County

3B — Blake ShannonSo.Johnson County

SS — Logan SteenstraFr.Cowley

OF — Lucas McCainSo.Allen

OF — Grady DavenportSo.Cowley

OF — Owen WilsonSo.Fort Scott

OF — Landon WoodFr.Johnson County

OF — Tyler HenryFr.Kansas City

DH — Jose SosaFr.Kansas City



Allen — Justus Burke, Nate Postlethwait.

Coffeyville — Aaron Bechtel, Jackson Blancarte, Chase Freeman, Luis Mendoza.

Cowley — Ryan Westerhoff.

Fort Scott — Grant Goldston, Andrew McKenzie, Aris Nakagawa, Adam Rellihan.

Highland — Connor Fiene, Jordan McClellan.

Johnson County — Mason Hartman, Anthony Slaughter, Sloan Thomsen.

Kansas City — Educardo Acosta, Keper Bednar, Eric Hinostroza, Kevin Santiago.

Labette — Landon Lord, Creighton Silvain.

Neosho County — Cruz Aranda, Cam Blazek, Andrew Brautman, Alex DeBey, Sam Kissane, Khalil Thrasher.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.