Five members of the Jayhawk East champion Cowley College men’s basketball team earned all-conference honors.

Dalen Ridgnal, who was voted Freshman of the Year, anchored the first team.

Ridgnal recorded 20 double-doubles and averaged 16.4 points and 10.6 rebounds per game.

“He hasn’t even scratched the surface yet,” Cowley coach Tommy DeSalme said. “As he matures, he can be one of the best to ever play here.”

Sophomore Deng Bol was a second-team selection for the second straight year and was named the Jayhawk East Defensive Player of the Year. Bol averaged 9.8 points, 5.4 rebounds and 1.5 steals per game.

“Deng has been our rock with his defense and leadership,” DeSalme said. “This shows the appreciation he has in this league. The coaches in the conference know his importance to our team.”

Both Ridgnal and Bol recently were named to the Region VI All-Tournament Team.

DeSalme was named the Jayhawk East Coach of the Year after guiding the Tigers to the conference title, a 26-6 record and a berth in the since-canceled NJCAA National Championship.

“This award means we have some really good players and a great assistant coach (Eric Nitsche) that does a lot for us behind the scenes every day,” DeSalme said. “I credit our players and Eric — this is just as much their award as it is mine.”

Cowley freshmen Cevin Clark, who averaged 14.8 points per game and has made the sixth-most 3-pointers nationally (110), joined Martaveon Jones (15.8 points, 4.2 rebounds, 3.4 steals) and Mike’l Henderson (14.2 points, 4.1 assists) in earning all-conference honorable mention.

“A different guy could step up for us and lead us in scoring on any given night,” DeSalme said. “To be recognized by the conference is quite an honor.”

Coffeyville sophomore Meikkel Murray was voted the Jayhawk East Player of the Year after averaging 16.7 points and 7.4 rebounds per game.


Kansas Jayhawk Community College Conference

All-Jayhawk East Men’s Basketball


Player of the Year — Meikkel Murray, Coffeyville.

Defensive Player of the YearDeng Bol, Cowley.

Freshman of the YearDalen Ridgnal, Cowley.

Coach of the YearTommy DeSalme, Cowley.



Malik HardmonSo.Allen

Tony HutsonSo.Coffeyville

Meikkel MurraySo.Coffeyville

Dalen RidgnalFr.Cowley

Demetric HortonSo.Independence



Joel BoyceSo.Allen

Grehlon EasterSo.Butler

Javaunte HawkinsFr.Butler

Deng BolSo.Cowley

Jaden McClanahanFr.Independence



BUTLER — Marque English (Fr.); Juwan White (So.).

CLOUD COUNTY — Iyen Enaruna (So.); Jay Lewis (So.).

COFFEYVILLE — Manny Crump (So.).

COWLEY — Cevin Clark (Fr.); Mikel Henderson (Fr.); Martaveon Jones (Fr.).

INDEPENDENCE — Sam’i Roe (So.).

NEOSHO COUNTY — Jonathan Breeland Jr. (Fr.); Jae-Min Yang (So).

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.