Pair of Vikings earn mention

Winfield High School juniors Jacob George, left, and Aidan Harper both earned honorable mention in voting by AV-CTL D-III boys basketball coaches.

Winfield High School juniors Jacob George and Aidan Harper received honorable mention in voting by Ark Valley-Chisholm Trail League Division III All-League boys basketball coaches.

George led the Vikings with 10.3 points per game while shooting 35.3 percent (65-184) from the floor while leading the team shooting 34.2 percent (52-152) from 3-point range. George also converted on 22 of 25 from the foul line.

Harper was second on the squad at 9.6 points per game, shooting 35.3 percent (61 of 173) from the floor, 37.5 percent (12 of 32) from beyond the arc. He also shot 67 percent (50 of 75) from the line, and averaged 2.8 rebounds and a team-high 3.2 assists, and also led the team with 44 steals and was second with five blocks.

The Vikings finished with a 3-17 record and were unable to qualify as one of the top 16 teams for Sub-State.

Jaren Jackson of Augusta was voted Player of the Year.

Jake Sims of Augusta and Kurt Kinnamon of McPherson were voted co-Coaches of the Year.

McPherson took the league title with a 9-1 record. The Bullpups are the only team in Division III from Class 5A, losing to Emporia in the Class 5A Sub-State semifinals.

McPherson placed all five starters on the all-league team, including Seth Madron and Cody Stufflebean on the first team.

The Orioles finished second in the league with an 8-2 record and went 19-4 overall, advancing to the semifinals of the KSHSAA Class 4A State Tournament before play was canceled.

Augusta also sent the entire starting lineup to the all-league team, including Zach Davidson on the first team.

Max Alexander and Issac Leshore of third-place Buhler rounded out the first team.


AV-CTL Division III

All-League Boys Basketball


Player of the Year — Jaren Jackson, Augusta.

Co-Coaches of the Year — Jake Sims, Augusta;

                  Kurt Kinnamon, McPherson.



Jaren JacksonAugusta

Zach DavidsonAugusta

Seth MadronMcPherson

Max AlexanderBuhler

Cody ShufflebeanMcPherson

Isaac LeshoreBuhler



Myles ThompsonBuhler

Ely WilcoxAugusta

Jayton AlexanderMcPherson

Drew MiddletonTowanda-Circle

Luke BeougherTowanda-Circle

Jake JohnsonEl Dorado



Jacob George, Winfield; Ryan Andrews, Augusta; Hayes Schmid, McPherson; Zach Wittenberg, El Dorado; Drake Dick, Buhler; Brendan Parker, Augusta; Jaudon Sundgren, El Dorado; Matt Hromek, Towanda-Circle; Cooper Courtney, McPherson; Braden Sides, Buhler; Garrett Meyer, El Dorado; Eli Jacobson, Towanda-Circle; Aidan Harper, Winfield.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.