Caroline Foster named Setter of the Year

Cowley College sophomore Caroline Foster was named Setter of the Year in voting by Jayhawk East volleyball coaches. Foster was also named to both All-Jayhawk East and All-District A first teams.

Fresh off another 30-win season and a top-10 national ranking, the Cowley College volleyball team was well-represented on the all-conference and all-district teams.

Sophomore setter Caroline Foster was named Jayhawk East Setter of the Year to go with all-conference and all-district first-team honors.

Foster finished the season with 1,430 assists.

“Caroline came to Cowley as a very talented setter whom we were overjoyed to have as part of our program for these past two years,” Cowley coach Steven Gream said. “Once she became adjusted to the college game, she took off and never looked back. As soon as her freshmen season was over, she went right back to the gym to get in the weight room and enhance her footwork, court awareness, speed and hands to make her more versatile in what she could do on the court. This hard work and dedication paid off as she was able to do things at a higher level and run our offense like a smooth machine that was one of the best offenses in the nation. We are so very proud of her and it is a great honor to be selected as Setter of the Year with the respect of, not only the Cowley community, but the KJCCC community as well.”

Freshman Iva Halacheva, who led the Lady Tigers with 475 kills while adding 99 digs and 46 service aces, also was named to both the all-conference and all-district first teams.

Sophomore Elina Zlateva (440 kills, 334 digs) was named second-team all-conference and all-district, and sophomore Hannah Vanriette (238 kills) joined Zlateva as a second-team all-conference selection.

Fellow sophomores Kadie Smith (294 kills, 95 digs) and Alejandra Delgado (573 digs, 88 service aces) received honorable mention all-conference.

“When you have a conference as strong as ours, with six to seven teams ranked in the top 25 each year and this year with six teams in the top 12, it makes for a tough voting for the coaches with all the talented players involved,” Gream said. “We were very blessed to have six players be so honored by the conference for their hard work during the season. Each one of these players would tell you that they could not have achieved these honors without their teammates. They are so humble and grateful for the recognition that they have received. We are so proud of them and their teammates, who made 2019 a wonderful season.”

Faith Simpson of Coffeyville was named Most Valuable Player, while Juliana Squire of Fort Scott was named Freshman of the Year. Rylie Barnum of Johnson County was named Libero of the Year.

Coach of the Year honors were shared by Coffeyville’s Delice Downing and Lindsey Hill of Fort Scott.


Kansas Jayhawk Community College Conference

All-Conference Volleyball


Most Valuable Player — Faith Simpson, Coffeyville.

Freshman of the Year — Juliana Squire, Fort Scott.

Setter of the YearCaroline Foster, Cowley.

Libero of the Year — Rylie Barnum, Johnson County.

Co-Coach of the Year — Delice Downing, Coffeyville;

                                       Lindsey Hill, Fort Scott.



Faith SimpsonCoffeyville

Juliana SquireFort Scott

Dayana CharaCloud County

Iva HalachevaCowley

Mikayla PowellJohnson County

Cajia AllenHighland



Second-team Setter — Sophie Mader, Fort Scott.

Second-team Libero —  Danielle Dodge, Coffeyville.

Seliann ConceptionCoffeyville

Elina ZlatevaCowley

Emelys MartinezCloud County

Jessica MonroeHighland

Gracie LaforgeJohnson County

Bailee SwansonFort Scott

Hannah VanrietteCowley



Abbie Borough, Fort Scott; Abbie Casper, Fort Scott; Geralayn Palacious, Cloud County; Kadie Smith, Cowley; Alejandra Delgado, Cowley; Tara Mattingly, Kansas City; Jenna Devore, Neosho County; Abby Williams, Highland; Laia Jaca, Allen; Zoe Schmidt, Coffeyville.


All-District A


Faith SimpsonCoffeyville

Iva HalachevaCowley

Caroline FosterCowley

Mikayla PowellJohnson County

Seliann ConceptionCoffeyville

Ryleigh BarnumJohnson County

Amilex Lopez-AyalaKansas City



Elina ZlatevaCowley 

Destiny ThomasCoffeyville 

Danielle DodgeCoffeyville 

Tara MattinglyKansas City

Alejandra DelgadoCowley 

Kayla NeigenfindJohnson County

Taylor HarveyJohnson County

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.