Several changes have been announced ahead of this year’s primary election in August, including a new polling place for Winfield-area voters and shifting district boundaries.

The polling place for voters in Winfield and the surrounding townships has changed from Faith Ignited Church to Central Baptist Church at 904 Wheat Road.

Cowley County Clerk Karen Madison said officials at Faith Ignited notified her that the clerk’s office can no longer use the church as a voting site, but did not elaborate on why.

Central Baptist is enthusiastic about allowing their facility to be used as a polling place, said Madison.

“We want to use places that want to work with us,” she said.

Redistricting maps recently approved by the Kansas Supreme Court contain some changes for area legislative boundaries, said Madison.

All of Cowley County is now in Kansas Senate District 32, represented by Sen. Larry Alley, R-Winfield. District 32 also includes all of Sumner and Harper counties, and a portion of southern Butler County.

Eastern Cowley County was previously included in Senate District 14, represented by Sen. Mike Fagg, R- El Dorado. Fagg’s district, which previously included Elk and Chautauqua counties, has shifted to the north. Elk and Chautauqua counties are now part of Senate District 15, represented by Sen. Virgil Peck, R-Havana.

Madison said the eastern park of Bolton Township,  which covers areas west and south of Arkansas City, will now be included in Kansas House District 12, represented by Rep. Doug Blex, R-Independence. It was previously part of House District 80, represented by Rep. Bill Rhiley, R-Wellington.

All of Cowley County will now be located in Kansas Board of Education District 10, represented by Jim McNiece of Wichita. The county was previously divided beteween District 10 and Distirct 9, the latter of which is represented by Jim Porter of Fredonia.

Litigation over redistricting maps has also led to some later filng deadlines. The deadline to file for a Kansa House seat has been extended to noon on Friday, June 10, said Madison.

Deadlines for Cowley County Commission District 1, township clerk and precinctman/precinctwoman is noon on June 1. State senate seats are not up for election this year.

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.