Trevor McDowell joins his sister as Cowley College Students of the Year

Trevor McDowell poses with Cowley College president Dr. Dennis C. Rittle.

Just as his sister, Madison, before him, Trevor McDowell has become a leader on Cowley College’s main campus in Arkansas City. Recognized for his involvement and stellar work in the classroom, Trevor was named Cowley’s Student of the Year during the annual honors and awards banquet Wednesday at the Burford Theatre in Arkansas City.

The McDowell family name is well known on the Cowley campus, with sisters Jordan and Madison McDowell being the second set of siblings to be crowned Queen Alalah. Both the McDowell sisters were also named Students of the Month during their time at Cowley, while Madison was presented with the 2015 Cowley Student of the Year Award. The sisters’ brother, Trevor McDowell, has followed in their footsteps.

Trevor is the son of Heidi and George McDowell. He has a grandmother, Renate Jordan, who resides in Ark City. He also has brothers Zach, Mason and Hunter. Zach also attended Cowley, while Trevor’s parents each graduated from the school.

Trevor graduated from Ark City High School in 2019, where he was involved in Student Council and the National Honor Society.

The secondary education Biology major came to Cowley as the recipient of the Jodi Sanderholm Scholarship, as well as a Trustee Scholarship (4.0 GPA).

He is the president of Phi Theta Kappa, is a student ambassador, and serves as a Cowley Tutor. He was named to the presidential honor roll after accumulating a 4.0 GPA.

“Trevor is one of the most remarkable students that I have had the pleasure of working with,” Cowley director of early childhood education Janet Davidson said. “He is self-disciplined and focused. He always demonstrates a pleasant and positive attitude; he is hardworking and is always willing to go the extra mile to help others.”

Through his work with PTK, he volunteers his time with the Cowley Student Pantry. He also volunteers with meal ministry through his local church and has been involved with IYQ Summer Camp in Arkansas City.

In his free time, he has his own Podcast and enjoys exercising and photography.

After Cowley he plans to complete his bachelor’s degree at Wichita State University and hopes to become a middle school or high school science teacher.



award recipients

Ambassadors — Allison Pinion, Kileigh Peninger, Jennifer Wong, Autumn Nottingham, Audrianna Bruce, Shelby White, Trevor McDowell, Macy Catlin, Sophia Martin, Teagan Brouwer, Karen Rodriguez, Jesse Hernandez and Andrew Burgos.

Collegiate Quiz Bowl — KayLynn Prough, Dakota Kerner and Aidan Sanders.

Resident assistants — Ariston Bartley, Teagan Brouwer, Brailey Delao, Samuel Giles, Nathaniel Hubbard, Antonio Marra, Sophia Martin, Kileigh Peninger, KayLynn Prough, Keely Solida, Lubna Suied and Garrett VanDeventer.

Student Senate — Jesse Hernandez, Audrianna Bruce, Sophia Martin, Dakota Kerner, Kyle Pfannenstiel and Madi Sanderholm.

Tutors — Britton MacLaughlin, Trevor McDowell, Dawson Crawley, James Howey, Paige Hughes, Mya Chapman, Alexandre Rodrigues and Antonio Marra.

Writing tutors — Dakota Kerner, Chloe Do Lago and Makayla Dick.

Derek Burroughs Award — Karen Rodriguez Reyes.


Instructional division honorary recipients

Business and social sciences department — Rebecca Prince.

Career and technical education department — Devin Brown and Hans Faye.

Health and human services department — Daira Sigala and Danielle Hernandez.

Humanities and communication department — Makayla Dick.

Natural science department — Bri Dutton.

Visual and performing arts department — Jacob Giger.


Club and organizations recipients

ACES — Jennifer Calvo, Hayden Gross, Shanna Nichols, Clark Wynn and Morgan Nellis.

Act One Drama Club — Kaitlynn Tarrant and Jennifer Wong.

Art and Design Club — Hannah Roderick.

Cowley bands — Shelby White, Issac Gardinier and Eric Woods.

Creative Claws — Helen Hladik and Tyler Thielen.

DECA — Braylee Heisler.

FCA/Reverb — Nathaniel Hubbard.

International Student Organization — Natalya Rubiano Gonzalez and Natalia Lima Da Silva.

Media Club — Hannah Abou-Faisal and Annie Morrison.

Multicultural scholars program — Karen Rodriguez Reyes.

Cowley Trap Club — Emma Speer, Aubrey Cartlidge, Griffin Rogers and Seth Gibbs.

Vocal music — Esmeralda Castillo and Jacob Giger.

Phi Theta Kappa — Brianna Dutton, Trevor McDowell, Shelby White and Allie Wright.

Students of the Month — Caitie Lockett, Trevor McDowell, Abby Weathers, Garrett VanDeventer, Kileigh Peninger, Audrianna Bruce, Keely Solida and Shelby White.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.