WICHITA — Winfield High School junior Kody Brenn captured the 170-pound title Saturday at the Bishop Carroll Invitational.

The Vikings placed a solid fourth in the 15-team meet, behind Class 6A No. 1-ranked Washburn Rural, 4A No. 2-ranked Andale and 5A No. 9-ranked Valley Center.

Brenn, ranked No. 6 in 4A, pinned his way to the championship semifinals, where he earned a 3:51 fall against 5A No. 6-ranked Cameron Bowyer of Valley Center.

Brenn rolled to a 7-0 decision against Andy Huynh of Mulvane for the title.

WHS freshman Owen Suttles advanced to the title match at 113 pounds before falling.

Suttles pinned Amani Wilson of Wichita West in the semifinals, but fell to 6A No. 1-ranked Jonathan Morrison of Washburn Rural in the title bout.

Senior Micah Greenlee returned home with third place at 195.

Greenlee went 2-1 in pool play, then pinned Carter Fox of Washburn Rural in 4:04 in the third-place match.

Sophomores Brody Lindenman, Cole Wageman and Zerrick Vargas, and freshman Talon Suttles all finished fourth.

Vargas went 3-1 in pool play at heavyweight to reach the third-place match, where he fell to Matt Godsey of Wichita South.

Lindenman went 2-0 in pool play at 132 and held the top seed in bracket action, but was upset via 9-1 decision by Gianni Huerta of Wichita South in the semifinals before dropping a heartbreaking 12-10 decision to Julio Sanchez of Haysville-Campus in the third-place bout.

Wageman went 2-0 in pool play at 145, but dropped a 9-2 semifinal decision to Brody Byrne of Washburn Rural before losing to Isaiah Wilson of Andale in the third-place match.

Suttles took a 2-0 pool-play mark into bracket play, but fell to 6A No. 2-ranked Easton Broxterman of Washburn Rural in the semifinals and dropped an 8-1 decision to 4A No. 2-ranked Trent Eck of Andale for third.

Freshman Zane Swinford finished fifth at 120. Swinford went 1-1 in pool play, but pinned Hunter Huffman of Valley Center in the consolation semifinals, then took a fall against Braxton Moody of Valley Center for fifth.

Senior Parker Smith (160) and freshman Mack Morin (152) finished sixth with 2-2 records.

Bishop Carroll Invitational

Saturday at Wichita

Team Scores — 1. Washburn Rural 188; 2. Andale 149; 3. Valley Center 140; 4. Winfield 130.5; 5. Haysville-Campus 115; 6. Bishop Carroll 102; 7. Mulvane 78; 8. Wichita West 77; 9. Maize South 76; 10. Salina South 69; 11. Wichita Northwest 67.5; 12. Derby 35; 13. Wichita North 26; 14. Wichita South 19; 15. Wichita Heights 2.

Winfield Results

106 — Talon Suttles, fourth place (2-2): won by pin Caden Denton (BC), 1:41; second-round bye; won by dec. Jamal Garrett (WW), 6-4; lost by pin Easton Broxterman (WR), n/a; lost by pin Trent Eck (And), 4:31.

113 — Owen Suttles, second place (3-1): won by pin Jackson Reichenber (BC), 5:57; won by dec. Pete Herbst (And), 6-2; won by pin Amani Wilson (WW), 6:00; lost by pin Jonathan Morrison (WR), 1:30.

120 — Zane Swinford, fifth place (3-1): won by pin Trevor McMurray (SS), 5:32; lost by dec. Karston Wall (BC), 5-0; third-round bye; won by pin Hunter Huffman (VC), 3:45; won by pin Braxton Moody (VC), 4:00.

126 — Gage Wilson, DNP (1-2): lost by pin Zach Thomas (Der), 1:55; lost by pin Johnny Harris (HC), 3:13; won by pin Johnny Castro (WR), 1:29.

132 — Brody Lindenman, fourth place (2-2): won by pin Edgar Amenta (WN), 2:52; second-round bye; won by pin Austin Sachen (WH), 1:37; lost by major dec. Gianna Huerta (BC), 9-1; lost by dec. Julio Sanchez (HC), 12-10.

138 — Chris Moore, DNP (0-2): lost by pin Conner Botts (WR), 0:36; lost by pin Brendan Lewis (WNW), 2:41; third-round bye.

145 — Cole Wageman, fourth place (2-2): won by tech fall Chase Slay (VC), 15-0; won by pin Drew McGuire (WW), 3:50; third-round bye; lost by dec. Brody Byrne (WR), 9-2; lost by pin Isaiah Wilson (And), 0:46.

152 — Mack Morin, sixth place (2-2): lost by pin Sam Duling (BC), 1:20; second-round bye; won by pin Dillon Cruce (HC), 5:17; won by pin Shawn Brady (WW), 3:32; lost by pin Kelby Eck (And), 2:53.

160 — Parker Smith, sixth place (2-2): first-round bye; won by pin Jackson Shields (Mul), 1:23; lost by dec. Antonio Huerta (BC), 5-0; won by pin Rashad West (WW), 0:42; lost by dec. Britton Forsythe (MS), 8-4.

170 — Kody Brenn, champion (4-0): won by pin Brody Stevens (WH), 1:24; second-round bye; won by pin Alexandre Brooks (WNW), 4:00; won by pin Cameron Bowyer (VC), 3:51; won by dec. Andy Huynh (Mul), 7-0.

195 — Micah Greenlee, third place (3-1): won by dec. Angel Simmons (VC), 9-7 (SV-1); won by pin Brett Baldridge (Der), 3:27; lost by pin Brandon Fletcher (SS), 1:45; won by pin Carter Fox (WR), 4:04.

220 — Carson Saicheing, DNP (0-2): first-round bye; lost by pin Caden Ross (WNW), 1:11; lost by pin AJ Aranda (WN), 0:39.

285 — Zerrick Vargas, fourth place (3-2): lost by pin Brycen James (WW), 3:09; won by pin Hank Purvis (BC), 4:11; won by pin Nathan Miller (WR), 2:24; won by pin Trustin Jackson (WN), 3:01; lost by pin Matt Godsey (WS), 3:27.

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.