Champions on the Mat

The Winfield Middle School wrestling team captured the title Dec. 14 at the Patriot League East Championship at Haysville Middle School. The Vikings crowned nine individual champions and scored 292 points. Benton-Circle was runner-up with 211 1/2 points, followed by El Dorado (170), Augusta (162 1/2), Arkansas City (140) and Haysville (132 1/2).

FRONT ROW, FROM LEFT:  Andrew Stanton, Laylah Bidwell, Grant Young, Taylor Zulkoski and Heath Reed.

MIDDLE ROW: Micah Lee, McAllister Morin, Lukas Koerner, Brody Lindenman, Talon Suttles, Jaxon Gatton, Andrew Beeson, Zane Swineford and Elias Conklin.

BACK ROW: Owen Suttles, Coach Oz, Cole Wageman, Devin Halstead, Preston Groom, Zerrick Vargas, Joshua Law, Noah Stout, Cale Lindenman, Coach Hottinger, Sander Flower and Coach Young.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.